Intro: How I Transitioned from Finance to Sustainability

Hi everyone!

My name is Kristen and I am an international business student on my expatriate year from the US. Before my trip abroad, my background was purely in international affairs and finance. I spent the last three years of my undergrad in Boston both studying and working in the finance sector. So I’ll tell you a little bit about how I shifted my interest from finance to sustainability.

I grew up in one of the boroughs of New York City, where the natural world has been so severely modified by the Anthropocene that my exposure to it has been relatively limited. Therefore my fascination for the natural world has only developed and grown since my move from NYC to Lancaster. It was a big adjustment moving from the city to the English country side, but after awhile I just adapted to my new surroundings. I started to really appreciate the fresh air and green hills around campus. Back in my home town, there were no green pastures for plenty of miles and especially no sheep around the corner!

Photo_1

My passion for sustainability in business was amplified after I attended the LUSH summit last month, where the company showcased their partnerships with grassroots organisations. This summit made me realize that it is possible for companies to not only fulfill their financial goals but also take care of natural and social capital. I also developed my interest for sustainability through researching topics such as fishery management, global eating patterns and horticulture.

These topics are my main focus and interest going into the WBCSD event in Switzerland. Apart from food and land use, I am also open to learning way more about the energy sector and how companies are changing the industry for the better.

Leave a Reply

