Introduction: Sustainability from all corners of the World

Hey Everyone!!

I’m Sammi and I’m currently in my second year at Lancaster University studying BBA Management. I’m originally from York and are moving to London in July to begin my industrial placement with IBM where I will be adopting a sales and marketing role. My great desire to work with IBM, is due to their environmental considerations, as they are now listed as the second most eco-friendly company on the planet (Smith, 2012) and have been working to make a greener future for decades. This includes their technology to build ‘smarter cities’ which aligns with one of the WBCSD’s main aims: to improve cities and mobility.

I applied to take part in the WBCSD as I feel they have such a huge scope and influence that they could change the world in incredible ways. I am so excited to be able to be at the heart of this and observe the potential ideas and solutions that are being explored at the present. I personally have a huge passion for travelling and exploring new environments, cultures and ecosystems. Whilst on some of previous trips, I have witnessed the lasting effects that an unsustainable world can have on the environment, making me fear for the future; not only on an international scale, but also for the selfish reason that there are so many places I have yet to explore and fear that they may be destroyed or lost before I get the opportunity to do so!

I witnessed the severe aftermath of the Boxing Day tsunami in 2004 when I visited Sri Lanka almost 9 years later and they were still recovering from the damages, whilst being concerned with the deforestation and damages to the coral reefs destroying the beauty of the Dominican Republic and putting many animals in the endangered species categories. These issues could have been slowed, or potentially stopped if there was more priority on protecting our planet and cohesion across the world.

One of the very first experiences that opened my eyes to issues the WBCSD deal with was during a volunteer project in Cape Town. Working in the slum areas of the city was a harsh realisation about the sheer scale of poverty with a lack of amenities such as food, clean water, electricity and jobs. Over this period, I grew a great attachment and love for the country and its people, and when exploring the WBCSD’s four main development areas, I realised that many of these problems could be dealt with, drastically improving the quality of life for so many wonderful people. For example, South Africa is a hugely sparse and sunny country, allowing ample opportunity to collect energy in solar panels and use land for food production providing both jobs and essential nourishment. Therefore realising how important and relevant the WBCSD is to all aspects of life, I am know beyond excited to have the opportunity to work with them.

 

Smith, P. (2012). Meet The 12 Most Eco-Friendly Companies on the Planet. [Blog] The Huffington Post. Available at: http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/paul-smith/meet-the-12-most-ecofrien_b_1664038.html [Accessed 21 Mar. 2017].

Leave a Reply

