The Intersection of Finance and Sustainability

Hi everyone!

My name is Dan Jaeck and I am a fourth year International Business and Finance student studying at Lancaster as part of an expatriate year from the US. I also have completed coursework in International Affairs and Political Science, concentrating in developing nations.

15675798_1367351636629405_8133045022101326944_o.jpg

I grew up in the Midwest of the United States surrounded by farmland. My father worked in agribusiness, so I have been around the food sector my whole life. While growing up, sustainable farming practices were of great importance in my home state of Minnesota. Being around nature and agriculture has really given me an appreciation for sustainability.

I have been able to combine my interest in finance and passion for sustainability by researching the impact ESG (environmental, social and governance) factors have on security pricing. I hope to deepen my understanding of the investment risks and opportunities associated with ESG considerations as investor awareness of and sensitivity to these topics rapidly increase. CEOs cannot ignore investors’ call to action for a more sustainable business model.

With my background in technology and banking, I believe that sustainability needs to be an integral part of any firm’s long-term vision. There is a critical need for action regardless of sector to create a sustainable future. These experiences have affirmed to me why events such as the WBCSD meeting are so important. Sustainability best practices should be shared cross-functionally, because at the end of the day, it is in everyone’s best interest to ensure the best possible world for future generations.

If interested in learning more about ESG factors, AB published a great overview about what responsible investing can look like in practice. Have a look!

I am looking forward to sharing my experiences at the WBCSD Liaison Delegate meeting!

Citations:

Embracing Responsible Investing (2017). AB. [online] Available at: https://www.abglobal.com/corporate/our-firm/resources/pdf/embracing_reponsible_investing.pdf [Accessed 24 Mar. 2017].

Leave a Reply

